Developing a Sustainable Knowledge Economy in the Northwest Territories

Hotıì ts’eeda has published “Developing a Sustainable Knowledge Economy in the Northwest Territories: A Hotıì ts’eeda Discussion Paper”, authored by Scientific Director Dr. Stephanie Irlbacher-Fox, PhD.

The discussion paper describes how the NWT Knowledge Economy (KE) has been evolving, and identifies ways that governments, communities and KE organizations can work together to foster the KE to bolster this critical but under-considered sector of the NWT economy.

Presentation to NWT Standing Committee on Social Development

On January 18th, Hotıì ts’eeda Scientific Director, Stephanie Irlbacher-Fox, and Chair, John B. Zoe, were invited to present this paper to the NWT Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Social Development. The presentation led to a lively discussion and interest from members. The following links to the presentation and following member statement and question and answer period provide more detail on the discussion:

Download the paper as a PDF: 

Download the infographic:

What is the Knowledge Economy?

The NWT KE is one made up of organizations and initiatives whose inputs and products consist of knowledge and expertise. This is in contrast to traditional notions of economies as producing goods or things, using physical inputs. In the NWT, the KE is playing a significant role in everyday lives and economic opportunities, from research, to training, to Indigenous Knowledge use. This sector is essential to innovation and is becoming increasingly important as the natural resource extraction sector becomes more uncertain and society moves toward knowledge-based green and technological innovations. The paper identifies issues, questions and considerations to analyze the KE with a focus on research and post-secondary education and training. It is intended to spark discussion and contribute ideas for consideration in the public discussions around post-secondary education and institutions in the NWT.

Inquiries can be directed to Rachel MacNeill at